Surrender the Brownies

YOU WILL LEAD ME BY THE RIGHT ROAD, THOUGH I MAY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT

Thoughts of “Do Hard Things.”

on August 23, 2011

That.

ROCKED.

Now, if I were in a humorous mood, I would leave it at that and move on to posts about cats, family, and semi-deep thoughts. But I am not in that mood. So.

Wow. Very few books actually make me think, and even fewer bring me to tears while reading it. This book did both. Haha, you’re thinking, “she must be some super-emotional lump of tears,” right? Nope. I have this thing against crying, it stupid, I don’t do it unless I really feel like I need to. This book gave me a good reason to just randomly start crying; namely, that I could see how I was settling for the easy road so often, ignoring what God asked of me, trying to control my own life (its my biggest vice, I’m working on it) and buying into the myth that teens really can’t to anything until they become adults (Thank you, parents, for helping this mentality along. Much appreciated. Sheesh.) But reading the stories of all those teens, all those kids, that did make a difference, it was a shocker! Sure, there’s still my nice little stumbling block of the fact that I’m almost a cripple, but hey, at the very least,Β  I can help my family, right?

Alright, next, the part that really had me thinking hard, was the part about beating your own expectations for yourself. Oh dear. Old habits, addictions, temptations, and most of all fear, rule me so often, and I’m just a teen, I really can’t do much. But, beating them is a “hard thing” and since life will be a heck of a lot better without them on my back… until now, I’ve been too weak to even try. The thing about all of the above… they are all things that get stuck in you. You can’t really take them away, can you? The book suggested that you can. I can? I can??? This is a very big thing to wrap my head around. Oh Lord, help me, I don’t think I can do this alone. (yes, that was a prayer, ignore… I needed to say it.) Wow. This is awesome!!!

Love to all! I shall be thinking deep thoughts all week now!!!

-Tani

(P.S, Gabe, I used my stopwatch, reading the book took me 1 hour, 39 minutes, 43 seconds, cover to cover, crying time included. 😎 )

7 responses to “Thoughts of “Do Hard Things.”

  1. Diana says:

    I really need to read that book……

    Like

  2. Tanichca says:

    Yes, yes you do. πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Voyze says:

    *dies of amazement and disbelief*

    well, I guess that reading it in less than two hours as opposed to around two months, it would have hit me about a hundred times harder. I’m really glad you liked it! We can help each other with some of our hard things, now that we’re both inspired to some extent! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Tanichca says:

      Indeed.
      Yay!! Ha, God is already getting after me to do hard things when I’m supposed to be helping around the house or babysitting or changing the baby… but you can help too, I suppose. πŸ˜› And I can help you!! Now that will be fun!!! πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Evelyn says:

    Now, the book didn’t make me cry, but the conference… Geeze, I almost had to leave the room so I could bawl my eyes out… Dangit, now I’m all teary eyed just thinking about it. Excuse me. *sobs*

    Like

  5. Bernadette says:

    Yay, I’m so glad you finally read it!!!!!! What an amazing book. And yes, I did cry while reading parts of it.
    I really need to read it again. And again…

    Bernz

    Like

Comment on

