Surrender the Brownies

YOU WILL LEAD ME BY THE RIGHT ROAD, THOUGH I MAY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT

Thoughts on the past week and the Our Father.

on October 17, 2011

This past week has been very strange. In both a good-strange and bad-strange way. This week, I’ve been yelled at, hugged, annoyed, in pain, tired, hallucinating, miserable, and completely happy. I’ve sung love songs to my cat, turned eggs, daydreamed, drew, slept, and argued.

And of course, I’ve prayed. And I think I need to share a story from a while ago, about my favorite prayer. A few months ago, I went to my first real adoration at the Great Retreat. I didn’t know what I was supposed to do, so I asked God, “Ok Lord, show me what to say!” And then I got that thinking-without-thinking experience of God talking to me, and He reminded me of Luke 11:1-4, where the disciples ask Jesus how it is they should pray, and He answers by giving them the Our Father prayer. So I said the prayer, carefully meditating on every phrase. When I was finished, I had probably the most powerful experience with God I have ever had (including about 20 minutes when I actually saw Jesus’s face over the Monstrance!). Since then, I have seen the Our Father as a gateway prayer, and I say it several times a day. I usually say it like the priest says it in Mass:

” Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come, thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Deliver us, Lord, from every evil, and grant us peace in our day. In your mercy, keep us free of sin, protect our lives from all fear and all worry, as we wait in joyful hope for the coming of our Savior, Jesus Christ. For thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory, forever.”

This is a prayer of trust. Here, we entrust God with everything from the food we eat to our own safety. It’s a plea for God to protect us, which is a big thing for me, who is scared of pretty much everything.

So, as a word to y’all, you might want to try praying this when you are in trouble. It is a beautiful prayer.

Love to all!

-Tani

Comment on

