Surrender the Brownies

YOU WILL LEAD ME BY THE RIGHT ROAD, THOUGH I MAY KNOW NOTHING ABOUT IT

Why guys REALLY open the door and say “women and children first!” (A reply to Evelyn)

on March 8, 2012

Dear Evelyn-

I get that you think that guys opening doors and letting women off of a sinking ship first is outdated and sexist. But, sadly, your reasons for them doing such things are simply not correct. You said it’s because people thought women were weaklings, useless, helpless. Nope. It is this wonderful thing called “respect.” (Maybe you’ve heard of it? It used to be the big thing.)

Men USED TO THINK that women were more important. They were quite aware that women could lift and carry. They had seen skirted heroines working in the fields, carrying heavy loads. But out of respect for women, they tried to make the workload easier. Also, they knew women could do something that they could never do- bear children! A man would never, ever have the patience to deal with screaming children, get dinner on the table, keep a house decent, all on three hours sleep. Men viewed women with a kind of awe and reverence, as is our due. Thus, just as a servent opens the door for the king, they opened the doors, took the umbrellas, carried the packages, and let them get off the sinking ships first. Also, you must remember… physically, women ARE WEAKER than men. I’m not being sexist, I am simply stating a fact. My brother Pavel can do things that I can’t. And that’s OK. God made men physically stronger and made women emotionally stronger. We have the power to make a man a beast, a slave to his lust, or make him a man- strong, courageous, passionate, a paradigm of virtue. Our beauty is used to sell everything from cars to blenders, because we know that men cannot resist beautiful women. Have you ever seen an ad where a man in his underwear was used to sell a Ferrari? Of course not! People would react with horror!

In modern times, it seems we have given up being better for being equal. Seeing as we have all but lost the respect for true womanhood, we women think that we are exactly the same as men. The funny thing is, the good men… don’t want to be exactly the same as women. The good men enjoy opening doors. Sure, maybe you have never known a truly good man. But get this- a great many are repulsed by a woman who  acts like a man! It’s their job! The king opening the door for the servant doesn’t make much sense, does it? We are sacred. We are beautiful, as women. We have a power and mystique to us that drives men insane! Who on earth would want to give up that?! We don’t need men to complete us; we are complete and perfect. But if a man wants to try for our hearts, OK, let him.

So, my feminazi friend, now do you see the reasoning behind this?

Love-

Tani

6 responses to “Why guys REALLY open the door and say “women and children first!” (A reply to Evelyn)

  1. Diana says:

    *puts on sunglasses and gets out popcorn*

    Argue away.

    Like

  2. Diana says:

    Have you ever seen an ad where a man in his underwear was used to sell a Ferrari?

    ROTFLOL! Oh my goodness! And yes, Tani, I agree with you, but chivalry is pretty much non-existent these days.

    Like

  3. Evelyn says:

    Thank you, Diana, I shall. 😀
    Tani, I kind of feel like you’re putting words in my mouth. I feel very misinterpreted. Okay, one thing at a time.
    “I get that you think that guys opening doors and letting women off of a sinking ship first is outdated and sexist.”
    Nooooo. I think that on the Titanic it was absolutely appropriate. I think that the reasons for the tradition as it is used today are flawed.

    “Also, they knew women could do something that they could never do- bear children!”
    Yeah, but sex DOES take two people. Anyway, we have no control over that, it’s just the way God decided to make us. Why should we get more respect over something we cannot control?

    “Also, you must remember… physically, women ARE WEAKER than men. I’m not being sexist, I am simply stating a fact.”
    You seem to be forgetting that I am in complete agreement on this fact.

    “In modern times, it seems we have given up being better for being equal.”
    Better? That seems to be taking things a little far. We are not equal at all. Our RIGHTS are equal. Women and men are different, our rights are not.

    “But get this- a great many are repulsed by a woman who acts like a man!”
    Opening a door for somebody does not mean I am acting like a man. It means I opened a door. I shall go down in history as the girl who opened a door! (Princess Bride reference FTW.)

    “The king opening the door for the servant doesn’t make much sense, does it?”
    Not in a worldly sense. But isn’t that exactly what Jesus would have done? I can easily picture the King of kings opening a door for His servant.
    Also, Louis VII was known for not exiting his chapel until the humblest of the others in attendance had gone before him.

    “We are beautiful, as women. We have a power and mystique to us that drives men insane!”
    I can drive men insane by opening doors. Didn’t you read the part about hearing the wheels turning? 😛 In all seriousness, though, opening a door for a male does not mean giving up my femininity. It means giving up going through the door first. Not much more.

    “We don’t need men to complete us; we are complete and perfect.”
    Complete? In Jesus Christ, yes. We do need a man to complete us. 😉 Perfect? Not on your life.
    So no… I do not see the reasoning at all. 😀
    Longest comment ever. I’m turning into Matthew.

    Like

    • Tanichca says:

      Well, guys don’t exactly let women off the boat first, do they? Remember that ship sinking a few months back? All them men hopped off first, leaving the women behind to drown.

      Because it is the friggin basis of civilization as we know it, that’s why!

      But you do seem to forget it!

      And I’ll bet you anything that Louis was welcomed home by a legion of footmen and the sound of trumpets every afternoon. It was his due, as king. And Jesus was not a physical king, but even he is served by angels. (That reference was Ever After, BTW.)

      But it is going out of your way to make a point. Why pass up a chance to expend less effort?

      But god made us perfect as ourselves. We add the imperfections through sin. But God made us in His Image, and therefore, we are perfect.

      Like

      • Evelyn says:

        Women have no more right to get off a sinking ship first then the men do. Sure, it wasn’t very NICE, but the men were within their rights, and really, as awful as it sounds, survival of the fittest?

        SEX TAKES TWO PEOPLE. I don’t see anybody handing our gold stars to the men for being willing to get girls pregnant…

        No, I didn’t. It’s your own misinterpretation of my words that makes you think I did.

        Why was he due anything because of his genetics and the family he just HAPPENED to be born into? And remember, all we have to go on as far as Jesus’ actions is what he did while on Earth. We don’t really watch him on a day to day basis. Come on, what is REALLY wrong with me opening a door for somebody who happens to be male? (Yeah, sorry. I quote them both so much I can never remember which quote is which. XD )

        Where would this world be if we only proved points when it was convenient? And because I’m not so lazy I can’t bring myself to pull on a handle. Today I opened a door for one of my guy friends, and it took me less effort than it would have him because he has muscular dystrophy. You can’t be black and white about this kind of thing, it just doesn’t work.

        I see where you’re coming from. Sorry, thought you meant something else.

        Like

  4. Diana says:

    We are Borg.
    Resistance is futile.
    Opening doors is irrelevant.
    We will add your biological and technological advancements to our own.

    (I d k….I just know I always open doors for everyone, but I never pass up the chance for someone else to open one for me!)

    Like

Comment on

