I’ll see you in the Eucharist.


My friend Octavia said something very profound last week, when a group of our other friends, with whom we had been attending a week-long Leadership conference, were preparing to go our separate ways. Octavia said, “We’ll see each other in the Eucharist.”

What did that mean, I wondered? We all go to different churches. We go to different masses, we even live in different states. Don’t we receive different hosts?

So I asked my older brother, who has been to theology classes and knows about this sort of thing, and he gave me a beautiful answer. He said that since God is outside time and space, and the Host actually becomes the body and blood of God at mass, when the Host is consecrated, we are actually part of the same sacrifice that happened 2000 years ago. The Eucharist becomes a point outside of time, occurring only once throughout all time. So, when I receive the Eucharist, I am effectively receiving it with St. Thomas the Apostle, with St. Phillip Neri, with Octavia, with my future grandchildren, and with every Catholic who has ever or will ever live.

In the Eucharist, no Catholic is ever alone. Every friend, every loved one long since passed, every saint and sinner, is with them, adoring and receiving God together. My friends, living across the country (and the world, too- I see you, daily Japanese visitor!) we are together in the Mass! I might miss you, I might miss talking to you, seeing your face, and being able to hug you, but you’re all here with me when I receive the Eucharist!

And now it’s time for a quick detour into my favorite topic:

ISN’T IT AWESOME THAT GOD LOVES US SO MUCH THAT HE WOULD MAKE A WAY FOR ALL CATHOLICS TO ALWAYS BE UNITED WITH HIM AND EACH OTHER?!? LIKE OH MY GOSH. GOD LOVES US SO MUCH. WOW.

Love to all! I’ll see you in the Eucharist!

-Tani

3 thoughts on “I’ll see you in the Eucharist.

Comment on

